Take inventory of countries that have closed airspace to Russian companies

It’s like an invisible wall built between Russia and the Atlantic Ocean. On Sunday, February 27, European Commission President Ursula von der Reyen announced the closure of all European Union airspaces for all Russian aircraft, including: “Oligarchy private jet”.

>> Find the latest news about the Ukrainian War on our live show

Over the weekend, many European countries announced this sanction in retaliation for Russia’s invasion of Ukraine on Thursday. Therefore, as of Sunday night,France announced that Russian planes and airlines will close airspace On twitter During the day, Minister of Transport Jean Baptist Jebali.

France demanded, alongside Italy and Denmark “Rapid European adjustments on this subject”, Ursula von der Leyen responded. Moscow did not fail to respond, which in turn disrupted the habits of dozens of airlines.

Which country has closed the airspace to Russian airlines?

“In Europe, the sky is open to those who connect people, not those who make brutal attacks (…).”Belgian Prime Minister Alexander de Crew said on Twitter.After announcing this measure little by little, European Union countries united to ban Generally on Russian aircraft to fly over their territory.

The transportation of passengers and goods, military aircraft and private jets is subject to these bans. Therefore, Russian flights to these countries will be canceled and people heading west will have to make long detours to avoid this vast ban. Most countries have just announced a flight ban. Only Germany has announced a three-month ban from Sunday.

Shortly before the French announcement, at Franceinfo on Sunday, government spokesman Gabriel Attal said: “For example, to allow Russian French to return to France.”

In total, on Sunday night, 31 countries on the European continent closed airspace to Russian companies. Among them, the United Kingdom, Iceland, Moldova and Norway are complemented by the countries of the European Union. Transport Minister Jean-Baptiste Djebbari announced at noon on Sunday: “In the face of Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, the unification of Europe [était] total”.

Prior to the announcement of Ursula von der Leyen, 18 of the 27 EU countries had already made the same decision: Germany, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Denmark, Spain, Estonia, Finland, France, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Estonia, Poland, Czech Republic, Romania, Slovenia, Spain. The remaining nine European Union countries strengthened this list on Sunday night. Cyprus, Croatia, Greece, Hungary, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Portugal and Slovakia.

Ukrainian neighbors Belarus and Moldova have closed airspace not only to Russia but to all other countries. Outside the continent of Europe, only Canada, the second largest country on the planet, announced that it had made this decision at the end of Sunday’s day...

On the European continent, the following countries are accepting Russian planes: Switzerland and the Balkans – Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia.

How did Russia react?

In retaliation, Moscow has begun to ban planes linked to European countries that recently announced such a decision, including their passage through their territory. On Sunday, this involves eight European countries: the United Kingdom, Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia, Slovenia, Bulgaria, Poland and the Czech Republic.

Russian airlines have declared that they will cancel flights to many destinations in Europe. Until March 13 for S7 Airlines and March 28 for connections to Prague and Warsaw. BBC..

What exactly will change?

The geographical location of certain sanctioned countries risks making Russia very difficult. Finland, for example, is robbing Russia of the more than 1,300 km border of Northern Europe. the The Gulf of Finland, up to 120 km wide, is surrounded by Finland, Russia and Estonia, and could be the only viable passage for Russian planes to the west. BBC..

The closure of Finnish airspace also risks affecting the service to Russia’s Kaliningrad exclave on the Baltic coast between Poland and Lithuania. Russia’s civilian aviation agency, Rosaviatsia, guarantees that Russian companies will fly to the exclaves of Kaliningrad, pass through the high seas of the Baltic Sea and bypass Lithuania.

Screenshot from flightradar24.com on February 27, 2022 at 2:25 pm.  (Flightradar24.com)

Air traffic in Europe will slow down and hundreds of planes will have to make significant detours.The whole of European flights had already evaded territory in the Ukrainian war.eLive air traffic monitoring site Flightradar24..

Follow in the footsteps of the group Lufthansa (Condor, Switzerland, Brussels Airlines) and IAG (British Airways), Air France has decided to stop Russian service and overflight Until you get a notification later “Given the local situation”A spokesman told AFP on Sunday. French airlines have also suspended flights to and from China, South Korea and Japan. “Time to study flight planning options to avoid Russian airspace.”

The turmoil began on Sunday. Some flights from Russia’s Aeroflot, Ural Airlines and Rossiya Airlines to Vienna or Frankfurt had to return to Russia, site Flightradar24 reported.

The route needs to be adjusted, which increases the time of certain flights. Flightradar24 reports that flights from Moscow to Budapest, Hungary, need to be extended by 70 minutes to detour Poland on Sunday, via the Baltic Sea to the north and Germany to the west.

Even the Russian government will have to change its itinerary on Monday. “The Kremlin Security Council secretary will arrive in Belgrade tomorrow to meet with Serbian President Vučić. Patruschev’s planes have to find an alternative route to Russia-friendly Serbia as countries close their airspace to Russia. Don’t be “Balkan Forum researchers twitter..

This scenario already stands out in the opposite direction. To avoid flying over Russia, the British company Virgin Atlantic has announced that it will add 15 minutes to an hour to flights between the UK, India and Pakistan. BBC..