Triple crown, the ultimate coronation for pilots

In a desperate race for almost 100 years, the Principality wrote a spectacular and unique legend. In addition to the Grand Prix, this race is one of three motorsport attractions, along with the 24 Hours of Le Mans and the Indianapolis 500 Miles. Focus on this hat-trick that pilots are anxious for.

Ambiguous origin of the symbol

Before becoming an informal distinction, a symbolic trophy, the Triple Crown is a combination of three mythical motorsport events. The Monaco Grand Prix was designed in 1929 by Antoninoges, the son of the president of the Monaco Automobile Club. The 24 Hours of Le Mans created in 1923. And the Indianapolis 500, IndyCar’s premier race since 1911.

If the consensus is such, the other protagonists of motorsport have, over the years, brought their own definition of a triple crown: three circuits with their respective championship titles (Formula 1, IndyCar Series and). Some prefer to replace it with WEC), others include NASCAR’s legendary races the Paris-Dakar and the Daytona 500 in their crowns.

Graham Hill, Triple Crown Driver Only

The rarity of the triple crown makes success even more mythical. To date, the British driver has won the Monaco Grand Prix (1963, 1964, 1965, 1968, 1969), the Indianapolis 500 (1966) and the 24 Hours of Le Mans (1972). Only Graham Hill (F1 World Champion). ).

Graham Hill, who has achieved legendary feats since winning Monaco, Le Mans and Indianapolis, has not only gathered the iconic distinction of the triple crown. With this unique success, he proved that he is one of the most talented and versatile drivers in the history of motorsport.

Beyond the purely mythical side, winning a triple crown is perfect, but especially requires complete technical proficiency, as the races are so different. Knowing performance at IndyCar, F1 and WEC means that the driver has a high degree of adaptability, learning and management.

Formula 1 is, above all, a so-called speed race with a powerful and automated single-seater, but the 24 Hours of Le Mans remains an endurance event where management is at the center of driving. When it comes to IndyCar, it’s the combination of speed and durability that the driver has to manage in a single-seater setting.

Juan Pablo Montoya, who won in Monaco in 2003 and in Indianapolis in 2000 and 2015, rode a McLaren in May 2022 and touched the triple crown with his fingertips. Mark Rebrick / Reuters

Attachment to Fernando Alonso

The Spanish driver, who won double F1 World Champion with Renault in 2005 and 2006, finished twice (2006 and 2007) at the top step of the Monaco podium. Same observations at the 2018 and 2019 24-hour champions Salt. Despite his very good participation on May 28, 2017, he only misses his victory in Indianapolis. He has been number one in the race since over 27 laps. , Alonso was forced to retire 21 laps from the finish due to mechanical problems.

Asked about this, Asturian Taurus did not hide his determination to join Briton on the triple crown throne.If I want to be the best pilot in the world, I have only two optionsAlonso explained in 2017. Either I will win eight F1 World Championships, one more than Michael Schumacher. You can win other races by proving that you can push yourself in the car and on various circuits.»»

Six other well-known drivers in car history have won two of three events: Juan Pablo Montoya, French Maurist Lantignant, Bruce McLaren, Tazio Nuvolari, AJ Foyt and Jochen Rindt. .. But only Fernando Alonso touched the throne of Graham Hill with his fingertips.